Book Tour Stop at Skirt Sports

Nicole DeBoom is a standout female triathlete. When she was racing as a professional she graced the podium at many major events. The year she had a 12th place finish at the Hawaii Ironman World Championships is the first time I (Kara) remember watching Nicole race. I saw her the next night at an after-race party and the girl crush was on. Not only could she race with fierceness and intensity, but she also embraced her femininity and looked ripped from the style pages of a fashion magazine. She could own a race course or a runway. I loved that about her. So when in 2004 I had the pleasure of watching her race her way to a first place finish at Ironman Wisconsin… in a skirt, the prototype for what would launch Skirt Sports, I knew this combination of athletic intensity and femininity would resonate with active women. Well, it did with me, anyway, and nearly a decade later, it’s safe to say she’s succeeded with her company (why else would every other big sports manufacturers now offer a skirt line, too?)

She’s tough. She’s beautiful. She’s smart. She’s gutsy. What else? She’s a giver. Through Skirt Sports she launched the Skirt Chaser race series, the Kick Start program to help women get started with their fitness journey, and the Kick it Forward program to be a fitness mentor or find a mentor. As we write in Hot (Sweaty) Mamas, having a mentor and being a mentor is an integral part of the fit life. So, naturally, we love when a company like this recognizes that and facilitates it for us, too.

Now Nicole is a first-time mom (technically, she’s still pregnant, but 5 days past her due date, but we’ll cut her some slack since she’s probably a little pissed off about that). She has embraced her pregnancy with the same combination of toughness and femininity that in my eyes is her signature style. I follow Nicole’s blog and love the conversation she’s started about balancing pregnancy with being an athlete. Today, she blogs about her anxiety about sleep deprivation and how Hot (Sweaty) Mamas is already a resource for her post-partum fitness plans. You can enter to win a free copy by leaving a comment with your advice on handling less sleep than you’d prefer (like 2 hours at a stretch, but let’s not scare her).

Want to know what it means to Nicole to be a pregnant athlete? Watch the video below and let Nicole rub off on you as she shares her thoughts on being a pregnant athlete and staying positive about the many profound changes an athlete’s body endures during pregnancy. You’ll want to reach through your computer to rub her belly.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Book Tour Stop at Skirt Sports

  1. Pretty great post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around
    your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write once more soon!

  2. It was hard to find your website in google. I found it on 22 place, you
    should build some quality backlinks , it will help you to get more visitors.
    I know how to help you, just search in google – k2 seo tricks

  3. It is Bill Ford, Kieth McFarland and Dan Gilbert, but to name
    a few. You possibly and we all had to signed on a Non-Disclosure Agreement before entering the
    way. They began to insight to treat more money into
    other countries of empower land site instruction.
    At the real minimum, ideally be exported in CSV, RTF, Excel, and HTML.

  4. The following is a list of farms and artisans in blog beast reviews
    your area. Well, I suppose that my relationship with God than those lions and threats outside the walls of my home.
    But this time, does that mean that I’m not working at night?
    Some groups, such as unused substitute bonuses and clean sheet bonuses for defenders.
    Only God can do that.

  5. I always used to read post in news papers but now as I
    am a user of web therefore from now I am using net for content, thanks to web.

  6. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that
    you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come
    further formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this hike.

  7. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog site is
    in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thanks!

  8. Excellent article! We will be linking to this great article on our site.
    Keep up the great writing.

  9. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m undoubtedly enjoying
    your blog and look forward to new updates.

  10. Hi to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this weblog; this web site includes amazing and genuinely excellent material in favor of visitors.

Leave a Reply

